The Diploma Programme (DP) curriculum is made up of six subject groups and a DP core comprising of three elements.

The DP core aims for the students to reflect on the nature of knowledge, complete independent research and undertake a project that often involves community service.

The three elements of the DP core are:
Theory of Knowledge (TOK): Reflection on the nature of knowledge and on how we know what we claim to know.
The Extended Essay(EE): An independent, self-directed piece of research, finishing with a 4,000-word paper.
Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS): A project focusing those three concepts.

The six subject groups are:

  • Studies in Language and Literature
  • Language Acquisition
  • Individuals and Societies
  • Sciences
  • Mathematics
  • Arts

The DP is open to any student aged between 16 and 19.


Students choose courses from the six subject groups.

Students may opt to study additional subjects in Science, Individuals and Societies, or a language course, instead of a course in Arts.

Students will take some subjects at the Higher Level (HL) and some at Standard Level (SL).  HL and SL courses differ in scope but are measured according to the same grade descriptors, with students expected to demonstrate a greater body of knowledge, understanding, and skills at the Higher Level.

Each student takes at least three (but not more than four) subjects at Higher Level, and the remaining at Standard Level.

Standard Level subjects take up 150 teaching hours and Higher Level comprises 240 teaching hours.